back to cataloguing

Wisdens

Busy week here at Lord’s, although I’ve had to spend most of my time working on the catalogue and have had very little time to give to TTF.  I’m especially grateful, therefore, to Andrew Black at Montgomery Cricket Club (http://www.takingthefield.com/clubs/montgomery-cricket-club) who’s created some fabulous videos for the website without me having to do any work at all!  Please take a look at them, the one about the glacier mints is my favourite.

While Andrew Black is doing all my work for me on the website I’m slaving away with the catalogue.  My manager gave me a friendly reminder this week that all library material needs to be ready to go online by February.  There are 142 boxes of material still to catalogue and I’m currently working at a rate of 2 boxes per week – you don’t need to be a mathematical genius to work out that means I seriously have to speed up!  So for the next few weeks there will be less listening to cricketing memories and less creation of digital stories and more of me tied to my desk trawling through box after box of annuals, periodicals and programmes recording vital information like how many pages each booklet has, how big it is and who printed it and where etc.

Before they can go on the catalogue all objects have to be carefully measured by our Measuring Officer Linda Gordon.

Before they can go on the catalogue all objects have to be carefully measured by our Measuring Officer Linda Gordon.

Cataloguing can be interesting some of the time, but some of the material is pretty routine repetitive stuff.  A nice diversion is looking out for comedy adverts, I found a nice baffling one the other day in a 1950s Indian match programme, I have no comment to make about this, what do you think? So many interesting themes I just don’t know where to begin…

oven advert

Better get back to the coal face, need to catalogue about 500 more match programmes by the end of today if I want to stay on track!

Leave a comment

Filed under advertisements, adverts, archive, cataloguing, Cricket, India, Librarianship, MCC, oral history

Leave a Reply

