Six of the best

Zoe and graceI’ve now been working on Taking the Field for six whole months, and to celebrate I’ve selected my six very favourite digital stories from the website.  Please listen to them and let me know if you agree.

Here’s the count down…

At six – A Good Place for People to grow up

http://www.takingthefield.com/stories/abcc-good-place-people-grow

ABPh116a - Friday night youth (2)

I like this one partly because I’m just drawn to the lovely voices.  It’s an aspect of oral history I really enjoy, the tone of a voice gives so much more feeling than reading words in a book.  As to the content, I love the fact that the club has been a home to Fred for such a long time and that it’s just as central to the lives of today’s children as it was in the 1950s.

At five – How a feather and a glacier mint were a must for cricket coaches in Chirbury in the 1930’s

http://www.takingthefield.com/stories/how-feather-and-glacier-mint-were-must-cricket-coaches-chirbury-1930s-0

This shows that the neglect of cricket in schools is not a new development.  I wish I could have met Mr Shaw, it sounds like he provided the type of cricket lesson I would have responded well to!  I’m looking for someone to teach me cricket at the moment but no one I know who plays will volunteer, if only I had a Mr Shaw in my life.

At four – In at the Deep End

http://www.takingthefield.com/stories/chorleywood-cc-deep-end

CWPh289 - Club Day 11 (action)

I just love the drama of this story, it’s well told and really easy to imagine the moment and the bowler’s emotion.  (Plus I just love the ‘ASBO’ line!)

At three –  Grounds (1): The tea ladies and Royal Hill Road

http://www.takingthefield.com/stories/spondon-ccs-grounds-1-tea-ladies-and-royal-hill-road

I love the historical documents and photos in this one, you really feel like you’re getting a good look into their history.  The video’s great too, (although I didn’t know who Brian Clough was and had to look him up).  My favourite thing about this one is that it once again demonstrates the amazing contribution women have made to their clubs since the very beginning.

At two – Playing for the Pits

http://www.takingthefield.com/stories/playing-pits

Ernie Barber rescue team

I feel this one gives a fascinating glimpse into a lost world.  I was brought up in a mining village (although not in Wales) so I think this story represents part of my heritage, I can just about remember how much the closure of the pits transformed our community.  It makes me quite sad.

At one – The Final Over

http://www.takingthefield.com/stories/final-over

My very favourite story!  It’s another sad one, but I actually find it quite uplifting.  I won’t spoil it – listen for yourselves.

Darky waiting to go in - away at Savile Stars 2011a

(If any of you are in clubs/know of clubs who’d like to get involved with TTF, please get in touch – you never know one of your stories might make my next top six!)

2 Comments

Filed under bowling, children, club cricket, Cricket, cricket grounds, digital stories, History, oral history, school cricket

2 responses to “Six of the best

  1. Emma Peplow

    Zoe! I don’t know how you could choose a favourite! There’s no way I could pick one, although I do love all the ones you’ve chosen. The ABCC one is just perfect for describing that club; I was so proud to get the bloody video to work on the Spondon one (and def love the story) and the Mark Dufton one is just very moving. I also smile every time I hear David’s asbo comment, and the pits one just reminds me of chatting to Mel and Ernie, who are great guys.

    Think I would have to add a Sri Lankan one, either ‘The Good and the Bad of the 1996 World Cup’ (http://www.takingthefield.com/stories/good-and-bad-1996-world-cup) – Arjuna Ranatunga! – or even ‘Black July’ (http://www.takingthefield.com/stories/tamil-union-black-july) not a very happy topic but it is a powerful story.

    But for a list of my all-time absolute favourites, you’d have to include Blaina’s Collecting our History (http://www.takingthefield.com/stories/collecting-our-history). Especially since they got their book published finally.

    • Cool. I’m glad you’ve added some Sri Lankan ones, I decided to concentrate on the UK. When I’ve been doing this for a year I can do my top 12 and add a few more! (Although of course they’ll be even more stories to chose from by then).

Leave a Reply

